Touched by a stranger…

Across the pool I see a mom playing with her baby girl, not that this is unusual, but she has the most amazing smile I’ve ever seen!  And she keeps on smiling, to everyone!  I think to myself, I’d like to be that happy, to let go of this sadness weighing me down.  About an hour later I find myself in the hot tub with this same woman and her baby girl, smiling of course.  After about 15 minutes, she comes over to me and says, “I’m sorry I keep staring at you, but I just have to tell you how beautiful I think you are.”  Choking back my tears, I barely uttered the words, “Thank you, you just made my decade.”  You see, I’ve been feeling nothing but ugly since Lily’s passing, ugly physically, ugly mentally, ugliness all around.  All it took was a kind word from a stranger to help me shift my focus, to appreciate those things and people in life that bring a smile to my face.

Thank you Lord for kind people, those who don’t think twice about making someone else’s day.  Thank you for my health, my family, our home, our provisions, my job, my faith.  Within me I have the power to choose, and today I’m choosing happiness!

~ by zeekster55 on September 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
